

Press Release For immediate release

The FTTH Council Europe welcomes its new President Ronan Kelly

The organisation decides to further focus on operators in 2016

Brussels, 21 April 2016 - Members of the FTTH Council Europe met at the General Assembly in Amsterdam on 19 and 20 April. The FTTH Council Europe Board of Directors has appointed Ronan Kelly as new President and set out the work plan for the coming year, including a special focus on operators.

Ronan Kelly has been appointed as the new President of the FTTH Council Europe, becoming the eighth person to hold this position since the organisation was founded in 2005. He replaces outgoing President Edgar Aker, who occupied this position for the past year and came to the end of his term.

In addition to his new position as President of the FTTH Council Europe, Ronan Kelly is also CTO, EMEA & APAC Regions at ADTRAN.

"It is a great honour to have been chosen as the new President of the FTTH Council Europe. A lot has happened in the past year during Edgar Aker's presidency" commented Ronan Kelly. "The FTTH market has matured and European decision-makers have shown a more "business-friendly" approach to broadband policies. In continuity with last year's strategy and working plan, we need to ensure that the call for accelerated fibre deployment is heard by all the broadband stakeholders who can make a change in Europe, with a special focus on operators for the year 2016!"

The FTTH Council Europe has set the following main objectives for the 2016-2017 period:

- Motivate activists and stakeholders to support FTTH rollout and adoption
- Educate decision makers to understand the need for FTTH and its socio-economic benefits
- Convince operators and project leaders to deploy fibre networks
- Urge stakeholders to create a fibre-friendly environment

The FTTH Council Europe will also focus on consolidating the available studies, material, data and information produced by the organisation.

Following the elections held at the General Assembly, the Board of Directors now consists of the following nine members:

- Ronan Kelly, ADTRAN, Ireland President
- Ismail Adibelli, Genexis, The Netherlands Treasurer
- Tobias Ahl, Rala Infratech, Sweden
- Magnus Angermund, Hexatronic Group, Sweden
- Antoni Bosch, Prysmian, Spain
- Michael Johansson, Ericsson, Sweden
- Joël Mau, Institut Mines-Télécom, France
- Ana Pesovic, Nokia, Belgium
- Edgar Van Essen, Reichle & De-Massari, The Netherlands



The Working Committee Chairs are:

- José Salgado, Portugal, Chair of the Deployment & Operations Committee
- Joeri Van Bogaert, Belgium, Chair of the Financing Committee
- Jan Schindler, Netherlands, Chair of the Market Intelligence Committee
- Karin Ahl, Sweden, Chair of the Policy & Regulation Experts Group
- Hans Kühberger, Austria, Chair of the World of Applications Committee

Full details about our Board and Committees here

The annual report of the FTTH Council Europe for the period April 2015/March 2016 is available here



Ronan Kelly speaking at the FTTH Conference 2016 in Luxembourg

About the FTTH Council Europe:

The FTTH Council Europe is an industry organisation with a mission to accelerate the availability of fibre-based, ultra-high-speed access networks to consumers and businesses. The Council promotes this technology because it will deliver a flow of new services that enhance the quality of life, contribute to a better environment and increase economic competitiveness. The FTTH Council Europe consists of 150 member companies. www.ftthcouncil.eu

You can download the FTTH Council Europe Press kit here

Longing for a better Internet connection? Join the "I want Fibre" page on Facebook: www.facebook.com/pages/lwant-fibre

Media Contact:

Jean-Michaël MASSENYA +33 (0) 6 25 90 28 60 pr@ftthcouncil.eu